A matter of trust

Psalm 34:7-9 – “The angel of the LORD encampeth round about them that fear him, and delivereth them. O taste and see that the LORD is good: blessed is the man that trusteth in him. O fear the LORD, ye his saints: for there is no want to them that fear him.”

My son is learning to drive and I’m learning to teach him. When we first started, I wanted him to understand that this was as new to me as it was to him. I wanted him to understand that this was a learning curve for the both of us. He is doing really very well. I actually felt comfortable enough last night to unclasp my hands and take a drink of my hot tea. That, my friend, is progress!

You know, this whole thing is teaching me trust. I’m learning to trust my son to get us safely from point A to point B. 

As we go through life, we have many opportunities to learn to trust God. He allows situations and circumstances that require us to trust Him more and more. He wants to encamp around us and provide us with a level of comfort that cannot be surpassed. He wants to deliver us from those same situations and circumstances that bring us closer to Him. 

But we have to “taste” Him. We have to try Him. We have to prove Him. Not because He needs it, but because we need it. We need to know deep down in the very center of our soul that it is in Him alone that we need to trust. We need to know that He is faithful every single time. And the only way to have that confidence is by learning to trust Him. 

So pray for me as I learn to trust my son behind the wheel of my car. And pray for yourself that you will learn to trust Him more today than you did yesterday. 

Leave a Reply

