Out of the hole

Isaiah 40:29 – “He giveth power to the faint; and to them that have no might he increaseth strength.”

It’s been a long week – and it’s only Wednesday. I’m playing the role of one man taxi driver for a household. My heart goes out to single parents. It’s rough to not have another hand to reach out to!

Yesterday I spent 2 and a half hours driving, non-stop. We were 45 minutes from home and 1 mile away from the soccer field when they cancelled practice because of rain and lightning. Ugh! 

On the way home, my son, bless his sweet little heart, did his best to try and cheer me up. But God love him, I was so sick of driving and hangry (that’s hungry AND upset) that it was mission impossible. 

But as I sat outside the dance studio waiting for my daughter to complete her class with my belly full and my work done, the clouds started to break and a tiny bit of light blue sky could be seen. The rain was over.  People were beginning to come out of their shelter from the much needed rain and things began to look better. Yes, I was STILL in the car but hope was on the horizon. 

You know, some days we feel we get jipped in the needs department. Our “poor little me” attitude comes out for a pity party and we gladly welcome it in. 

But then you come across this verse. It reminds me that when I try and do things myself and rely upon my own strength, that “pity party” me comes out to play. And she’s not very much fun. When I rely upon solely upon the strength from my Savior, He lifts me up. He makes the clouds break and encourages me to come out of my hole. 

So let me encourage you today to draw your strength solely from Jesus. He’s the only One who can keep you from fainting at life. 

Leave a Reply

