This morning…

Genesis 25:31-34 – “And Jacob said, Sell me this day thy birthright. And Esau said, Behold, I am at the point to die: and what profit shall this birthright do to me? And Jacob said, Swear to me this day; and he sware unto him: and he sold his birthright unto Jacob. Then Jacob gave Esau bread and pottage of lentiles; and he did eat and drink, and rose up, and went his way: thus Esau despised his birthright.”

This morning, the kids were eating breakfast and my son asked for a catalog that was near my daughter. Now, a bit of back story – A discussion arose concerning the temperature outside and the fact that my husband’s car only has seat warmers for the front seat. He was planning on taking the kids to school and my daughter was lamenting over cold seats in the back seat. She begged my son to allow her to sit upfront. He, of course, declined the request stating that was his place to sit. 

Back to the story – my daughter agreed to give him the catalog if he would allow her the front seat. He proceeded to reach across her for the catalog. To which she responded, “Come on Esau! Sell your birthright, you hairy brother!”

Now, this particular antidote has no real deep spiritual meaning. However, my children were having fun early in the morning with Godly stories in their mind. The scene itself made me smile, but what warmed my heart was the Biblical reference. God was on their mind. 

So, enjoy your day and always keep God in the forefront of your mind and your day! Happy Friday!

3 thoughts on “This morning…

  1. Melissa, any time your kids are including a God reference it is just a validation of your influence. My son is going to be 22 soon and while I know he has a Godly being he does not voice it. On the other hand my 19 year old daughter just dives deeper and deeper into her spiritual walk. She will be a counselor with something called Power Life this summer and will get the chance to minister and interact with other teens, including some from our church. I took her with me on my last mission trip in December f 2015 and it seems to combine with her other influences to super charge her drive.

Leave a Reply

