Last week…

Jeremiah 17:7,8 – “Blessed is the man that trusteth in the LORD, and whose hope the LORD is. For he shall be as a tree planted by the waters, and that spreadeth out her roots by the river, and shall not see when heat cometh, but her leaf shall be green; and shall not be careful in the year of drought, neither shall cease from yielding fruit”

The plague descended upon my house last week. Well, maybe not THE plague, but the flu. It may as well have been the plague with the amount of bleach wipes and alcohol pads I have gone through in the last week. Also, I believe I may have also consumed a bottle of immunity booster just trying to avoid it. And so far, so good. 

That’s why you didn’t hear from me last week. I just didn’t have it in me. 

It was a week of uncertainty and concern. When to take people to the doctor; when is their next dose of medicine; have they had enough fluids; do I need to go to the grocery store – again? 

But even though it was exhausting and mentally draining, there was a calm. The knowing that this too shall pass. Yes, my week was disrupted. Yes, I had clients cancel on me because I might be infected. Yes, the cashier at the grocery store gave me funny looks when they saw me for the second and third time. But, I wasn’t alone. Jesus was there with me. And even though I didn’t have the opportunity to write my post, I did keep up with my personal study. It was my moments of peace before the coughing started. 

Caring for your family is just as much of a way to produce fruit as going out on the mission field. I’m showing love and compassion to those I care about – that is applicable anywhere. My daughter kept thanking me for taking care of her. My husband was appreciative for holding it all together. My son kept tabs on how I was feeling. In their own ways, they were caring for me. It is a beautiful circle. 

So, if this week finds you plagued with some illness or situation, hold tight to the Savior. Stay planted and stay healthy – physically and spiritually. 

Leave a Reply

