Busy. Busy. Busy. 

Psalm 46:10 – “Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.”

Sunday morning, we had a missionary speak to us. He said something that really hit home for me –

If the Devil can’t make you bad, he will make you busy. 

His sermon focused on the Good  Samaritan. He also looked at the ones that “passed by” and why they may have done so. 

As he was speaking, I began to wonder how many times I “pass by”. How many times do I see a need and just smile and nod and move on? How many times do I hear a cry for help and just turn away? How many times am I too busy to give up a moment for someone else?

Too many, I can tell you that. But how am I supposed to stop everything and attend to a situation or person that I really don’t know how to help? How am I to explain to the person that gets the short end of my time that I just had to do such and such? 

It’s excuses. Every single one of them. Excuses. I have to be at work. I can’t be late for my next client. My kids are waiting on me. My family already has this or that planned. Excuses. 

I’m busy. 

God wants me to be still. He wants me to be compassionate. He wants me to see Him be exalted. If I’m running around like a chicken with my head cut off, I won’t see His exaltation. I won’t see His mighty hand at work. I won’t see the opportunity to show someone else His love. I just won’t see. 

Busyness has a way of taking me away from Him. And the sad thing is that sometimes it’s “spiritual” busyness that takes me away. It’s the teaching three classes in one day that stresses me out in a way that keeps me from serving with a pure heart. And that’s my fault for not saying “no”. But I allow myself to get too busy and I forget to be still. 

So, I want to encourage y’all to be still this week. Don’t let busyness of any sort get in your way of being still before Him. It’s a challenge not only for you, but especially for me. Happy week. 

Leave a comment