Feeling colors

Romans 12:18 – “If it be possible, as much as lieth in you, live peaceably with all men.”

It is bound to happen – The time when you feel like you have butted in where you don’t belong and fear that you have upset the balance of things. The time when you see and or hear of a situation and your tender heart can’t help but feel like you have to do something about it. And after it is done, someone close to you shows you what you have done. It wasn’t done with malice or discontent in your heart. It was done out of love. But someone could construe it as you butting in. 

When I was a teenager at church, our children’s church leaders had a story about Rudy Red and Butt-in Brown and Yelling Yellow. There were other colors but for some reason those stick out in my head. I wonder why…..probably because I relate to them the most. Some days I find myself feeling “red” – not happy, rude, ornery and irritable. Some days I find myself “yellow” – a loud, obnoxious response to every little thing. Last night, I felt “brown” – I had butted in. I don’t like feeling brown. It presses heavy upon my heart. 

But when I feel any of these colors, I need to repent. I need to try and make it right. So I did. I did what I could at the time. I prayed and talked to God about it. I sought out wise counsel from my husband. I did what I could. But I don’t know if the offense has been forgiven and/or dealt with. Suspense. I just have to let God handle it now. I have to choose not to walk this way again. And I have to keep praying that God will continue to work it out. It is in His hands now. 

Feeling colors is no good. Any of those colors I listed brings no peace. It only causes strife and dischord – none of which any of us need in our life. But it is our choice to let Rudy Red or Yelling Yellow or Butt-in Brown have a day in our life. Sometimes they slip in unannounced. But some days we open wide the door for them to walk right on through. That’s why we must let God guard the door to our heart. He is the only One that can keep the peace we all so desperately need. 

Leave a Reply

