Roller coasters

Psalm 37:25 – “I have been young, and now am old; yet have I not seen the righteous forsaken, nor his seed begging bread.”

Well, I feel like I may have crossed over into new territory. I sat out a ride at a theme park. 

As I sat watching the roller coaster smoothly travel along the tracks, I recall the last time I rode it. I felt like my brain was being sloshed around in my head like a milkshake! I remember the days I could take on something like this time and time again. I remember waiting 4 hours for a 75 second roller coaster that boasted the highest and steepest drop. I remember spending hours and hours riding one roller coaster after another with hardly a slow down for food. Those were fun days. 

But now, I’m content to stay seated by the support pole and watch as my children are turned this way and that and loving every minute of it. 

So what does this have to do with spiritual issues? God hasn’t let me down through it all. He has seen me through the seemingly smooth times of my life. He has seen me through the times when life has thrown me for a loop. He has held me together when I have been jostled like a milkshake. He has kept me from physical hunger and provided me with spiritual food when I ask. You see, He has been there and provided for it all. 

So as you enter into a new week of uncertainty and potential loops and insanity- remember where your certainty lies…Jesus Christ. 

Leave a Reply

