Spilled coffee

1 Thessalonians 5:18 – “In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.”

I had this brilliant idea this weekend – I was going to make some killer cold brew coffee. I found the recipe online, bought the necessary items and got it all ready. Yesterday, the brew was supposed to be done. So I get out my handy dandy fine mesh strainer to pour it up. And, no lie, I poured about three quarters of it on the counter and on the floor. You want to talk about a mess??!! Coffee granules EVERYWHERE! The granules had clumped together and when they came out, the dam broke and wa-la! Coffee flood. Not pretty. 

But God, in His infinite wisdom, had bestowed upon me, at that moment, some kind of miraculous grace and mercy because it didn’t completely destroy me. I didn’t cry. I didn’t scream. I didn’t begrudgingly hold back words that wouldn’t have been pleasing to Him. I just looked at it and said, “Man, what a waste of ten dollars!” 

So what could I possibly find to be thankful for in this situation? I don’t know how the coffee tastes. Honestly, I’m a little scared to try it since God poured almost the whole thing out. I’m thankful that He gave me what I needed in that situation. I’m thankful for paper towels. I’m thankful I didn’t drop the glass pitcher I was holding when the dam broke loose!

Sometimes it is hard to be thankful in crazy and upsetting situations. Sometimes that gratitude takes time. But God wants us to see each and every situation in our life as an opportunity to learn and grow. It is a chance to find Him working in your life in a way that you could never imagine. 

So this week, take nothing for granted. See God working in your life. See His hand molding and making you in ways you never imagined. And thank Him for that. Be grateful that He loves you enough to give you what you need at the very moment you need it. 

Leave a Reply

