New name

Revelation 2:17 – “He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches; To him that overcometh will I give to eat of the hidden manna, and will give him a white stone, and in the stone a new name written, which no man knoweth saving he that receiveth it.”

Twinkle Pointy-Toes. That’s my elf name. It’s getting close to Christmas and out comes the meme to identify your elf name. It’s not too bad, really. I kinda like the idea that I twinkle – not always annoyingly bright, but rather changing and creating interest to those who take the time to look. As for the pointy toes, well, I guess that a good swift kick in the pants might not be such a good idea as punishment. 

Any way…

A new name. God has promised that those who overcome will get a new name. I wonder what mine will be. How does He choose it? I’m sure that He doesn’t take the first letter of your first name and make it one thing and the last name from the month you were born in. No, it has to be way more interesting than that. Maybe He will give me a name that best fits my service to Him or maybe it’s related to what He loves best about me or maybe it’s my most shining characteristic. Who knows. But what I do know, is I want one – a new name. 

Overcoming. Overcoming what? Sin. The church that was being addressed in this verse had some serious problems – they had chased after false doctrine.  They had wondered from The Path. John, through the inspiration of the Holy Spirit, was encouraging these people to overcome the temptation to follow after beliefs that were not of God. 

There are so many opportunities for false doctrine out there. So many people claiming they are right and everyone else is wrong. I believe the Bible. I read the Bible. I believe the Bible is the Word of God. I believe it has the answer to every question I could ever come up with. True, questions about the content of the internet isn’t specifically in there, but guarding your heart and keeping away from the appearance of evil is. 

If the content of a person’s message cannot be directly found in the Word of God, I don’t believe it. Opinions are not what is important. What God says is important. And that, is how I will overcome and get a new name – I choose to believe God and His Word. 

It is fun to learn your elf name and wondering about your new Heavenly name is interesting. But for now, I think we all need to focus on overcoming. I don’t know about you, but I want to be found faithful. I want to be found waiting for Him. I want to be found being a good steward of the gifts He has given me. 

Leave a Reply

