Flying and falling

Psalm 37:23,24 – “The steps of a good man are ordered by the LORD: and he delighteth in his way. Though he fall, he shall not be utterly cast down: for the LORD upholdeth him with his hand.”

My daughter got in the car yesterday with her lip dragging the ground. She was so upset. She is a base on her cheer team and she had dropped her flyer. 

My daughter knows and understands that it is her responsibility to get under her flyer and protect her at all costs. And when the unthinkable happens and she drops her…well, despite the fact that no major injuries occurred, my daughter is wounded. She feels like she has let her teammate down. She let her fall. 

She has taken kicks to the neck, scratches and pokes like you wouldn’t believe- but she does her job. She gets under her flyer and protects her. It is very special to watch – even when it’s ugly. 

I was never a cheerleader in school. I tried  out but didn’t make the team. So my perspective of cheerleading was pretty rotten, I’ll admit. I was wrong. Now, I’m sure there are exceptions to this but the girls I see on my daughter’s team are devoted. They are devoted to one another. They are devoted to their team. The feats these little girls can accomplish is amazing. 

But despite how utterly amazing and strong these girls are physically, they have the God who is stronger. 

My God is my base. He is the One throwing me up in the air to show how amazing I am. And then when I come crashing down, He is under me and breaking my fall. He catches me. But unlike my daughter’s stunt team, He never misses. He ALWAYS catches me. And when I’m ready, He tosses me up again. He loves me. He wants everyone to see what He has done in my life. He want me to cheer and yell and shout to the moon about His goodness and His mercy. 

I’m not a cheerleader – I have trouble following the cheers sometimes! But I can talk and share and write and listen and give encouragement and comfort. I can work and be obedient and hug and make yummy food and laugh – all for His honor and His glory. It’s about letting Him direct my path and give me words. It’s about listening to His Holy Spirit telling me what to do. It’s about flying. It’s about falling. It’s about trusting – trusting that He WILL catch you when you fall. 

Life is beautiful even when it’s cloudy. Life is warm even when you need a sweater. Life is trusting Him when your a mile above the ground. Learn how to fly and learn how to fall. 

Leave a Reply

