Judging

Romans 14:10-13 – “But why dost thou judge thy brother? or why dost thou set at nought thy brother? for we shall all stand before the judgment seat of Christ. For it is written, As I live, saith the Lord, every knee shall bow to me, and every tongue shall confess to God. So then every one of us shall give account of himself to God. Let us not therefore judge one another any more: but judge this rather, that no man put a stumblingblock or an occasion to fall in his brother’s way.”

I’m having a tough time with this lately. I’m finding it harder and harder not to judge others I see. 

I see people driving around with bumper stickers on their cars for political candidates and I think, “Are they crazy? How could they possibly vote for that person?” I see people driving around smoking in their car and think, “Don’t they know what they are doing to their health?” I see overweight people at the grocery store buying a cart full of soda and junk food and high fat frozen food and think, “How sad that they don’t make better choices.” I see people posting on Sunday afternoon about their recreational adventure Sunday morning and just shake my head. 

And through all of this, I shouldn’t judge. I have enough problems and shortcomings on my plate. How is that supposed to happen? How am I supposed to go through the day seeing all of this and not judge? I don’t get it. 

I’m a very opinionated person. Every one who knows me knows this. I can be very passionate about some things. And it is hard not to judge. 

Yet, Jesus has called me to walk like Him. One day we will all be standing before Him giving an account of our life. Why do I continually add judging others to that list? There are times when I will see something and think, “Don’t judge. Don’t judge.” And before the fourth word fully forms in my brain, I’m judging. Deep sigh. 

It. Is. Tough. 

But when I judge, I’m putting a stumbling block between me and that person. That stumbling block can keep me reaching out to them the way He wants me to. It can bias my objective and make me choose a different path. Judging others can sometimes be very cruel. And that’s not something Jesus would have wanted said about any of us who choose Him as our Savior. 

What to do, what to do. 

This is something I cannot handle on my own. This is something that requires way more strength than I have. I have to let Jesus lead me in this. I just have to. I have to give Him the reign of my heart and mind and allow Him full creative authority to do whatever is necessary to keep me from judging others. Hand it over. Give it up. (Wait for it…) Let it go. (Sorry. I had to do that.)

So let me encourage you this weekend to take a look at your heart. Where do you stand when you see something you want to judge? Do you let Jesus filter it first or does your brain take over and let it fly in your head? It’s tough. I know. But remember, one day we will all have to stand before the Judgement seat and give an account – all of us. 

Leave a Reply

