Having the right attitude 

Colossians 3:23-25 – “And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men; Knowing that of the Lord ye shall receive the reward of the inheritance: for ye serve the Lord Christ. But he that doeth wrong shall receive for the wrong which he hath done: and there is no respect of persons.”

My children are both in Spanish 1 this year. As we were driving home from soccer practice yesterday, my son was complaining about the trouble he was having remembering the Spanish words. He feels that the teacher is going way too fast. They learn a few words and have a quiz at the end of the week. My son feels that he doesn’t have enough time to digest it and learn it. And oh, was he complaining about the teacher! Whine, whine, whine. And he usually doesn’t do that sort of thing. So, it took me aback a little because of it. I guess he had had enough and needed to vent. I get it. We all need a safe place to let it out every once in a while. 

However, I felt that this was a great time to try to convey the message that we need a good attitude even through tough times, because a poor attitude makes the tough times even longer. So, I tried giving him an example of when I was in college and I loathed a class. I talked to him about the fact that I had to daily remind myself that I had to have the right mindset for class or it dragged on forever. 

And then Mr. Reason comes out – “Mom, that sounds really good. But do you understand how difficult it is to actually do it?”

I love that kid. He doesn’t just take what I try and teach him and keep his mouth shut. He challenges and brings out thought and reason. It’s great…and difficult sometimes. 

You see, there are just some times in our lives that are hard. Our schedule may look like a toddler had a hay day with a pencil because it is so crazy. Our instructor may ask us to do the impossible – learn a foreign language. Our boss may expect more out of us that we think we can muster. Or Jesus may ask us to leave it all and follow Him. 

Whatever it is that we have been asked to do, we need to do it with a willing heart. We have to choose to be pliable and ready to learn. We have to choose to be flexible and decide that we are going to face this challenge with a smile on our face. 

And that’s hard. But in doing so, we allow ourselves the opportunity to be blessed by God. And what greater blessing could there possibly be than hearing – “Bien hecho, mi hijo” (Well done, my son – thank you Google translate!).

One thought on “Having the right attitude 

  1. Very good! My challenge was Algebra in high school. I couldn’t seem to understand how to solve word problems. You know the ones like, “if Train A leaves the Southern station at 3:01pm at heads north at 55 mph and Train B leaves the Northern station at 3:12 and heads south at 65 mph, what time will the trains collide?” All I knew was the trains colliding would not be a good thing, & my Algebra grade was going south. The teacher was no help. But Dad, a math whiz, sat down with me and showed me that I was getting lost in the words, so he said, “Underline only the words that have value, and then build your equation and solve the problem.” The lightbulb went off. Thru the year, he explained the concepts in a way that I could understand. After that, I started making A’s in Algebra & actually started to like it.

    >

Leave a Reply

