Revisiting “Remember Me”

Hope enjoy this revisit from about a year ago –

Luke 23:40-43 – “But the other answering rebuked him, saying, Dost not thou fear God, seeing thou art in the same condemnation? And we indeed justly; for we receive the due reward of our deeds: but this man hath done nothing amiss. And he said unto Jesus, Lord, remember me when thou comest into thy kingdom. And Jesus said unto him, Verily I say unto thee, To day shalt thou be with me in paradise.”

Have you ever heard this children’s song: 

I’ve got a home in glory land that out shines the sun. I’ve got a home in glory land that out shines the sun. I’ve got a home in glory land that out shines the sun. Look away beyond the blue.

Do Lord, O do Lord, O do remember me. Do Lord, O do Lord, O do remember me. Do Lord, O do Lord, O do remember me. Look away beyond the blue.

I took Jesus as my Savior. You take Him too. I took Jesus as my Savior. You take Him too. I took Jesus as my Savior. You take Him too. Look away beyond the blue. 

Do Lord, O do Lord, O do remember me. Do Lord, O do Lord, O do remember me. Do Lord, O do Lord, O do remember me. Look away beyond the blue.

The “little folks” sang this at church yesterday and it made me almost cry. The part that got me was “remember me”. Sometimes we get ourself in such circumstances that we think that God will forget us. How could He ever forget us? He sent Jesus to die for us. If you give up something as important as your Son for something, you are NOT going to forget why you did it. 

But this sweet little song reminds us that we have a home in Heaven awaiting us. We are just like the thief on the cross. We have nothing to offer Jesus to deserve to spend eternity with Him. But just as the thief chose Jesus that day, we have the opportunity to choose Him today. We have the blessed opportunity to choose to live for Christ today. 

And we really don’t have to ask Jesus to remember us because how could He forget. Could you ever, in your right mind, forget your child? No. And we are imperfect beings. Jesus never sinned. He will never forget us. He sees us each and every day. He hears each and every word we speak. He knows each and every step we take. And He still loves us. 

So today, remember that you are truly and dearly loved. You will NEVER be forgotten. 

Leave a Reply

