Report card

1 Corinthians 11:32 – “But when we are judged, we are chastened of the Lord, that we should not be condemned with the world.”

Yesterday in Sunday school, I presented this task to my class. 

Get a piece of paper and write “Report Card” on the top. Then make a list: Conduct, Bible reading, Church attendance, Witnessing and Prayer. Now, grade yourself. Be honest. No one will see it but you and God. 

It hurts, doesn’t it. We can look at this list and think, “oh, I’m doing okay with this.” Then you think about your attitude and your focus and your genuineness. That’s when things get muddled and ugly. 

I know when I thought about this yesterday, my heart was convicted. And all areas were affected. I couldn’t say in my heart that I did a really good job with anything. 

We all have room for improvement. We all have areas in our life that need daily attention and quarterly checks. 

But you know, these checks are for our good. They hold us accountable and make us better. God has provide His Holy Spirit to keep us on His path. He wants us to be successful – closest to Him. He wants us to live a good and happy life – closest to Him. But we are sometimes like an animal, we get distracted easily – squirrel! And once we are distracted, we are headed down a path that leads us away from Him. We need God to yank the chain now and again. 

So this week, let me encourage you to fill out this “Report Card”. Pray about it. Ask God to show you ways that He wants you to improve and change. 

One thought on “Report card

Leave a Reply

