Every. Little. Thing

1 Corinthians 10:31 – “Whether therefore ye eat, or drink, or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God.”

I was driving around yesterday, listening to the radio and this song came on that I have heard a million times. Sometimes, however, God can use the familiar to bring to mind a truth long forgotten. And that’s what He did yesterday. 

Have you heard Steven Curtis Chapman’s song “Do everything”? Here is a sample of the lyrics:

Little stuff
Big stuff
In between stuff, God sees it all the sameWhile I may not know you, I bet I know you Wonder sometimes, does it matter at all? Well let me remind you, it all matters just as long As you do everything you do to the glory of the One who made you, Cause he made you To do Every little thing that you do To bring a smile to His face, Tell the story of grace With every move that you make, And every thing you do.

(I copied it off a lyric website and smooshed it together for space – that’s why the letters are weird. I’m too lazy to fix it!😊)

Every. Little. Thing. 

Do you do every little thing for the glory and honor of God? Changing the tablecloth? Filing your paperwork? Pumping your gas? Getting your coffee at the coffee shop? Picking up the mail? It can all be done for the glory and honor of God – if you want it to. That’s the kicker – “if you want it to”. Are you changing the tablecloth because you want to provide for your family a desirable and pleasant environment to enjoy a meal? Are you filing your paperwork with obedience in your heart? Are you pumping your gas and praising God in your heart for the funds to pay for the gas? Are you smiling and showing God’s love at the coffee shop when the barista gets your order wrong? When you pick up the mail and see all the bills mixed in with the credit card offers do you thank God that He gave you the wisdom to know which ones to keep and which ones to throw away?

Every. Little. Thing. 

I think more often than not we dismiss these opportunities as just things we do. We don’t see the opportunity in each and every moment. I know I’m guilty. I rarely thank God for the wisdom to sort my mail. I usually don’t consider the reason I change the tablecloth other than it is dirty. Filing my paperwork is usually just a task I have to hurry up and complete. Pumping the gas is an opportunity to clean out the car. I don’t think about thanking God for the ability to pay for my gas. As far as the coffee shop goes, I’m usually my own barista – and yes, sometimes I muck that up. 

Anyway, my point is this – we have so many missed opportunities every day to make our little things important in His sight. When God looks down on my day, I want Him to smile when He hears me praising Him for the little things and doing all that I do for Him. I want Him to see a life richly, fully and praisingly (not sure that’s a word but it should be!) lived. Live out Every. Little. Thing. 

Leave a Reply

