Reflections 

Philippians 2:3-5 – “Let nothing be done through strife or vainglory; but in lowliness of mind let each esteem other better than themselves. Look not every man on his own things, but every man also on the things of others. Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus”

We celebrated Independence Day a few days ago. We spent the holiday in Gettysburg and Annapolis. They both were great reminders of the price of freedom. The Civil War soldiers gave their lives fighting for their passion. The Naval Academy just inducted 1100 young people who will be stripped down to their soul and rebuilt in four years – that is passion and dedication. 

As I was driving home yesterday, I had plenty of time to think. I was considering passion and dedication and the concept of fighting for what I believe in. And this question came to me – do we, as a society, have the passion to fight something like the Civil War? Do I have the dedication and faith to proclaim Christ as my Savior if it meant certain death?

I listened to a podcast yesterday by Mike Rowe that talked about the lives of three of the signers of the Declaration of Independence after the fact. The three he spoke about lost EVERYTHING they had including their wife and possessions. It was taken away from them because they had the courage and the passion to say that the way of tyranny wasn’t right. They were tortured. Their wife was tortured and kidnapped. Would I have the courage and the passion to sign something like that? Would I risk my family and my livelihood for such a cause and conviction?

This is precisely what Jesus did. He gave it all. Granted, He didn’t have a wife and children to think about, but He did have His disciples and the rest of mankind to carefully consider. He stood in the gap. He fulfilled His passion. He answered the call. 

God has not asked us, yet, to make such a sacrifice. However, if you read Revelation, that day is quickly approaching. Will I have the courage to stand up and proclaim Christ at the point of death? Will you? Will we risk our families for the sake of truth? Heavy questions on my heart his day. Yet, there is the glimmer of peace in knowing that God is preparing me for whatever struggles lie ahead. 

Leave a Reply

