Bad days come & go

Proverbs 24:10-12 – “If thou faint in the day of adversity, thy strength is small. If thou forbear to deliver them that are drawn unto death, and those that are ready to be slain; If thou sayest, Behold, we knew it not; doth not he that pondereth the heart consider it? and he that keepeth thy soul, doth not he know it? and shall not he render to every man according to his works?”

We all have bad days from time to time. We all have mornings that we wake up an hour or so before our alarm goes off and can’t go back to sleep. We all have those days when we feel like we have broken every glass in the house. We all have bad days. 

What can we possibly gain from a bad day? How can we seek out something good in amongst all the seemingly bad things going on? How do we see positive out of a day reeking of headaches?

In truth, it’s all about how we handle those kinds of days. Do we turn our head to the difficulties of others just because our day is rotten? Or do we turn our attention to something other than our own problems? Usually when we do the later, we find our problems are just tiny stumbles. 

I woke up really early this morning with a headache. And as I laid in bed trying not to toss and turn, my mind began to race. I thought about everything from what I needed to add to my grocery list to all the ones that I knew would be traveling today. It gave me an opportunity to pray. It gave me an opportunity to reflect on some things that have been going on in my life and the time to look forward to some new things that will be happening soon. 

And although the day promises to be long due to lack of sleep, I’m kinda excited about the day. It’s the first day of a new month. My son leaves for the UK soon (I’m sure there will be more on that in the future – it’s a big deal!). My daughter has a to-do list a mile long. We are going on a getaway this weekend. My husband is in full swing of a new position at work. And I am in the process of a career change. It’s an exciting month. 

So my encouragement for you today is this – don’t let a bad start or bad event spoil the entire day. God sees your struggles. He knows the challenges. But He expects you to face them like Jesus would, with a positive attitude and a ready heart. 

Leave a Reply

