Does everybody know?

John 13:34-35 – “A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another. By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.”

We are having a contest at work. We are supposed to bring in a picture from our wedding day and people are supposed to match the employee or resident to the correct wedding picture. Well, I protested! I told the activities director that it wasn’t fair! Everyone would know me! How many flaming red heads with big hair work at any one place??!! Now, my program manger does have red hair….

Anyway, I think everyone (who can see – remember, I work at a nursing home) will be able to pick me out in a heartbeat. But that’s ok. I am known by my hair. It has always been one of my greatest fears that I will have some sort of illness that causes me to lose my hair and no one will know me. I’ve been “that little red headed girl” my whole life. I feel like losing my hair would be like losing my identity. Vain, I know, but still. 

Yet on the other hand, I want to be known for other things. I want to be known as someone who is kind, who listens and tries to understand. I want people to enjoy being around me. I want to be remembered for providing for everyone under my wings. I want to be known as a Princess – and not the annoying kind, but rather the kind that is a child of the King. 

Jesus was talking to His disciples here and was encouraging them to love. He wanted their love to be so lived out and so unique that EVERYONE would know who they followed after – Jesus Christ. 

Do people know you follow after Christ before you tell them? Or are they shocked when you mention Him? If you were on trial for being a follower of Christ would there be enough evidence to convict you? Could the prosecutor call anyone to the stand to testify against you? 

Living and loving out loud. Being a follower of Christ should be as evident to others as the hair on you head (or lack thereof 😉).  It shouldn’t come as a surprise when you start talking about your Savior. It shouldn’t surprise someone to hear encouraging words from the Scriptures pouring out of your mouth. 

Does everyone know? 

Think about that this weekend. If everyone doesn’t know, well, you might ought to check into that. Start by attending church on Sunday. God has something you need to hear. Hey, here’s one for you, go one step further and attend Sunday school or Bible study or small groups Sunday morning. He has something to say to you there too! God is waiting for you to take the first step in letting everyone around you know that you are His. You just need to be willing to take the first step. 

One thought on “Does everybody know?

Leave a Reply

