Overwhelmed 

Psalm 61:1-5 – “Hear my cry, O God; attend unto my prayer. From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I. For thou hast been a shelter for me, and a strong tower from the enemy. I will abide in thy tabernacle for ever: I will trust in the covert of thy wings. Selah. For thou, O God, hast heard my vows: thou hast given me the heritage of those that fear thy name.”

Have you ever had moments in your life where you are just completely overwhelmed? 

You may be overwhelmed by fear or sorrow or joy or gratefulness. Being overwhelmed can come in many forms. 

I have been overwhelmed several times this week. Monday, I was overwhelmed by God’s care and attention to my life. Tuesday, I was overwhelmed by uncertainty. Wednesday, I was overwhelmed by excitement. Thursday, I was overwhelmed by stuff – lots and lots of stuff to do. And today, I am overwhelmed by gratefulness. 

Today is my 21st wedding anniversary. It is hard to believe that I have been married more than half my life! But it’s true! It is a decision that I would make over and over again. My husband is the BEST! He is loving, honest, true, trustworthy, the leader in our home – I could go on and on. 

I know that the longevity and beauty of our marriage is due entirely to OUR Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I know that without Him, we would never have survived. Jesus is the One who has kept us sane, kept us strong and kept us choosing to love each other each and every day. 

You know, as we were going through Monday, I knew that God would see us through the trial we were facing. But He did something extraordinary – our couples devotion for that night specifically dealt with what we were dealing with – to the detail! It knocked my socks off! All I could do was cry. It was amazing. 

Being overwhelmed can sometimes be a good thing. It brings you to the place of praise and communication. It doesn’t matter what state of overwhelmed you are at, you can’t help but cry out to Him when you are there. 

So the next time you find yourself overwhelmed, don’t sweat it – be prayerful in it. Be joyful. Be grateful. Be praising. Be crying out to Him. 

One thought on “Overwhelmed 

Leave a Reply

