A new chapter

Philippians 4:6-7 – “Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”

One September day back in 2002, I found out another little person would be coming into my life. And when she arrived on this date in 2003, my heart overflowed. She was (and is) beautiful in all ways, shape and form. She is my “party waiting to happen”, my little ray of sunshine, my emotional roller coaster and my friend. 

Today marks a new chapter in her life and in mine – she is a teenager today. That means that all my children are now teenagers. That means the food in my home will continue to decrease at an ever increasingly alarming rate. That means that hormones are running rampant. That means that driving is not too far away. That means that high school graduation is fast approaching. Oh, I can’t go on….

Yet as I step into a home filled with my teenagers, I can’t help but be thankful. They are obedient, for the most part. They are kind and loving and appreciative of what they have. They understand that they have to work for what they have and what they get. They are smart and work hard in school – they earn every grade they get. 

I don’t have the average teenager. I have teenagers that worship and adore God. I have teenagers that want to go to church. I have teenagers that enjoy serving. I am blessed indeed!

And although I know that I have two rare and beautiful jewlels, I know that I still need to pray. I know that the world isn’t finished with them. I know that the devil has a bullseye on their back just waiting for the opportunity to shoot them down. And I know one day, he might/will. I know that they are not perfect. They will make bad choices and they will do things that I don’t agree with. But they are mine. They will be prayed over in a mighty way. 

So today, I want to encourage you to pray for the young people in your life. They need it – desperately. And pray for their parents – those people who have been given charge by God Almighty to protect and guide them. You see, it takes all of us praying for the children and their parents to make this thing called life work. It takes teamwork and it takes diligence. It takes love and leadership on the part of all of us to raise godly children in this world. And the world needs more of them. We, as adults, have to step up to the challenge and grab the bull by the horns, so to speak. We MUST present our requests to God with thanksgiving and then we need to wait for His leadership in the way that we should go. It’s a process but not one to be taken lightly. 

2 thoughts on “A new chapter

  1. Love this and love you guys. Special Happy Birthday today to your beautiful princess!! Aunt Verna

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

