Burnt carrots 

Psalm 102:1,2 – “A Prayer of the afflicted, when he is overwhelmed, and poureth out his complaint before the LORD. Hear my prayer, O LORD, and let my cry come unto thee. Hide not thy face from me in the day when I am in trouble; incline thine ear unto me: in the day when I call answer me speedily.”

The day started out well. I was on time. And then a patient called out for help. And then I got caught my another need. And then I was late to get my son. And then my gas tank was on empty. And then practice ran long. And then I remembered my carrots were in the oven. And then I remembered they would be in there for an hour and a half – would I come home to a house in smoldering ruin? 

Well, we survived the burnt carrots and no one went hungry. As I prayed before dinner, my daughter snickered at me because this is how my prayer sounded – “Thank you Lord that the carrots didn’t burn the house down. Thank you for keeping us safe in our crazy afternoon. Thank you for providing this yummy food because our carrots burned. And thank you for helping us find joy in the little things. Amen.” Yes, you can snicker too. It was funny. She said it sounded like a scene from a VeggieTale movie. 

Sometimes the well planned day has a way of getting away from you. You plan everything to the last detail and revel in the fact that it will all come together smoothly. Then you find yourself helping out and low on gas. That’s life in a nut shell. 

The only thing to do is cry out into the Lord. And you know what? He really does care! He cares that the carrots burning in the oven stresses you out. He sees when you just can’t resist that sweet little lady that looks at you and says, “Honey, I really need to go to the bathroom.” He understands when the pumps at the gas station are all filled with cars and you are late. (Yep, this all happened yesterday!)   He knows when you are at the end of your rope. 

And He answers speedily. The house is safe. The food was good. The gas finally got in the car and I wasn’t stranded. Everyone got to where they needed to be. Homework was completed. And laundry was done. 

It was a great lesson, although I let the learning side of it stress me out. It was a reminder to cry out to Him. It was a reminder to let Him have it all – the good, the bad and the ugly. It was a reminder that He is quick to listen and sure to act. 

Thank you Lord for the lesson in burnt carrots. 

One thought on “Burnt carrots 

Leave a Reply

