Resting

Psalm 91:1 – “He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.”

It’s not too often that I take time to rest. It seems like I am running from the time my eyes open in the morning until they close at night. My day is filled with running here and there, preparing this and that and the general chaos that sustains the life of a mom with one teenager and one almost teenager. 

I’m not complaining. I love my life. I love my kids. But I also like to rest. Yesterday, I purposefully made time to rest. Oh, I still got the laundry done and put away, the dishes cleaned and put away and prepared lunch for today, but I also slept outside for an hour. I stuck my feet in the pool and chilled. I read an ENTIRE magazine! Oh happy day. It was blissful. 

God wants us to rest. He wants us to rest from our work. He wants us to rest from our insanity called life. We need that time to recuperate. Our bodies need it. Our spirit needs it, and our mind needs it. 

The best place to rest in in the “shadow of the Almighty”. Don’t you just love the picture that word phrase brings to mind? I picture a grand and gigantic tree that has boughs going out as far as the eye can see. The air within the branches is cool and sweet. The grass is soft and cozy. The trunk is stable and the roots are deep. That is exactly where I want to be. Protected from the outside world. Safe and secure. How amazing would that be?!

And while this place may not exist here on earth (who knows, maybe it does), I know that I can find that place spiritually. I can crawl into His shadow and rest. I can choose to let Him cover me with His love in such a way that the outside world becomes a distant memory. That’s were we need to be. 

So let me encourage you to make that time this week. Choose to spend some time in the “shadow of the Almighty”. Let Him refresh and restore you. Let Him bring peace to your heart. 

2 thoughts on “Resting

Leave a Reply

