Wonderfully made

  
Psalm 139:14 – “I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well.”

My mom sent me this picture the other day. The caption read : “Redheads are God’s roses.” 

It made me smile. For those of you who may not know me, I am a redhead. Not the kind from a bottle, no, only the good Lord could come up with this color! I have brown eyes instead of blue and my skin is as fair as fair can be. Yep, me and sunscreen are BFFs! 

I love the picture but it was the caption that drew my attention. A rose. I never thought of myself as a rose. 

It got me to thinking about what characteristics me and roses have in common. So, here goes. 

Let’s start with the color. Usually when someone thinks about roses, red is usually the first thing that comes to mind. Red is the color of love and passion. But it is also the color of hate and anger. Well, I have quite the mixture of that flowing in me. I care fiercely for those around me and I love dearly those that are closest. I can be a bit of a momma bear at times, I admit it. It comes with the territory. I try to steer away from anger. It takes a lot, usually, to get me upset. But when I get there, Katie bar the door! It is not pretty. I’m working on that, by the way. 

The next thing you think of are the thorns. I think we all have thorns to some degree or another. We all have our prickly side that we don’t want others to know about. To me, thorns are those things that we really don’t want anyone else to see. I can’t tell you how many times I have been grateful that people can’t read my thoughts. Oh, the trouble I would be in! 

Another thing you may think of is the care that roses require. They need to be pruned and watered and fertilized. Occasionally, they need to be cut completely back. I feel like I am in a constant state of pruning sometimes. The Master Gardener has His work cut out for Him! But He does His loving work diligently and faithfully. He never lets me get too far away. And I love that! I need His hand in my life to show me the thorns and feed me through His word and water me with the bonds of fellowship. 

I may not be a rose. Most days I feel more like a dandelion- have you ever tried to kill one of those? They don’t go down without a fight and more often than not, they show up again! Yep, I think I’m more of a dandelion than a rose. Roses are too delicate. But the sentiment is sweet. I appreciate my momma thinking of me as a rose. 

It’s springtime and for a large majority of the US, flowers are beginning to make an appearance. What kind of flower would describe you? Think on that today and this weekend. Get out, if you can, and enjoy God’s creation. We are all fearfully and wonderfully made – even the flowers and all of nature. Remember, God put nature around us to remind us of Him. 

One thought on “Wonderfully made

  1. Very good! Please post! Some of our best friends are redheads, like Anita, my college pal who introduced Bill to me. Cute story – our wedding colors were red & green b/c we had a Christmas wedding. So, when I was choosing bridesmaid dresses, I wanted red, my favorite color. Anita said that red doesn’t look good on her, so we went with green. It turned out pretty. Since she introduced us, Bill says we have to always be nice to her, & she doesn’t let us forget it.

    >

Leave a Reply

