Joy in obedience 

Psalm 35:9 – “And my soul shall be joyful in the LORD: it shall rejoice in his salvation.” 

My daughter had believed she was saved for quite sometime- that is, until last summer. During VBS, she came to me and told me that she thought she had just prayed the prayer and did not mean it in her heart. We talked about what that meant and before our chat was over, she was a true blue Princess. She truly and completely accepted Jesus as her Savior. 

Sunday night, our church observed the Lord’s Supper. It’s a very somber and reverent time for our little congregation, yet so very sweet. We observe this ordinance twice a year. I’m not sure where we were when we observed it in the fall, but we must not have been there because my daughter said this was her first “real” observance of this ordinance. 

She said, “Mom, I used to smile through it. But tonight, I couldn’t. It just reminded me so much of what Jesus did for me. But now, all I can do is smile because this time I did it for real.”

Joy. Real, honest joy in being obedient. Have you ever experienced that? Have you ever been so overflowing with joy just because you have done what Jesus asked you to do?

It is an amazing feeling. It makes me smile just thinking about it. 

We should experience joy when we are obedient to God. It shouldn’t be burdensome and weary. It should be joyful and energizing and rewarding. 

Matthew 11:30 – “For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” 

How many of us feel like this at the end of the day? We have done all that God has called us to do and what do we do? Complain. Moan. Groan. Whine. 

Some days, His yoke doesn’t feel light. Why is that? I know in my case, it’s a “me” problem. I’m so busy being focused on me and my problems that I forget to see the joy in being obedient. 

So let me encourage you today to choose to see the joy in doing what God has called you to do – whether it be serving on the mission field or serving dinner to the family. Find joy in all you do, especially in your obedience to Him. 

One thought on “Joy in obedience 

Leave a Reply

