Praising my safety

Psalm 119:114-117 – “Thou art my hiding place and my shield: I hope in thy word. Depart from me, ye evildoers: for I will keep the commandments of my God. Uphold me according unto thy word, that I may live: and let me not be ashamed of my hope. Hold thou me up, and I shall be safe: and I will have respect unto thy statutes continually.”

Yesterday, I did a lot of driving. It was one of those days. As I’m driving around, I saw the evidence of 3 accidents. Nothing major, mostly fender benders, but one did cause the airbags to go off. 

But it made me grateful. I was praising God. All the driving I do on any given day and He protects me. I KNOW that it has nothing to do with my skill. I know that only by the grace of God go I. 

I think we all have times in our life when we are sailing smooth. It’s almost like we are just waiting for the other shoe to drop. But if we take a closer look, we realize that things really aren’t that smooth, we are just choosing to trust God for all of it and praising Him for what He provides. For example, yes, I had the tremendous blessing of safety yesterday. BUT I get home and find that my crockpot refused to cook my dinner! Plan B – cook tomorrow night’s dinner. Ok, that problem is solved. Then I go to make lunch for today and the chicken is just finishing when the grill runs out of propane. Really??!! Well, praise God I had another dinner to cook and the chicken finished cooking before the propane ran out. See, not so smooth. 

David was usually into something. He was as crazy busy as I am. It seems he was always being pursued by someone about something (sound familiar?). But he chose, as his safety, the God of Heaven in whom is the Rock of Salvation. He chose to follow the commands of God and take the good with the bad. 

Emulating all aspects of David’s life may not be the best idea, but one thing that I know I need to do is take on his desire to follow and please God more and more every day. David owned his choices and his consequences all the while praising God for His mercy. 

Safety is well and good. But I need more of the trust and praising aspect in my life. I challenge you, and myself, to praise God today for whatever He brings your way. Pray for protection. Pray for acceptance of what you cannot control. Pray for leadership through it all. But remember to praise Him for every little thing, no matter how small you think it might be. An attitude of praise is exactly what we need. 

One thought on “Praising my safety

Leave a Reply

