The Little Things

Psalm 5:11 – “But let all those that put their trust in thee rejoice: let them ever shout for joy, because thou defendest them: let them also that love thy name be joyful in thee.”

In my line of work, we celebrate the little things. We celebrate small steps that were diligently sought after and tirelessly worked toward. We tell them to everyone. We give rewards. We give accolades. We do it up big. Because by rejoicing in the small things, it gives us hope toward our bigger goal. 

Why should this train of thought be any different for my every day life? Why do I neglect to celebrate a lost 1/2 of a pound? Why do I not celebrate being able to turn on the dishwasher and enjoy some extra time with my family? Why do I not celebrate the extra cash left over at the end of the week? 

I don’t celebrate those things because sometimes I consider them too trivial to really matter. But are they? Are they really trivial? Or do they point me to a greater hope? Do they not show me God’s blessings in my life? Do they not show me that God has graciously provided all that I need – under budget? Doesn’t it show me that my family is important and needs my time? Doesn’t that fading half a pound show me that it can be done?

It is really all about perspective. I see that more and more every day. If I choose to see the small things and perceive them as blessings, my day takes on a whole new meaning. I find myself celebrating more and more. And with the added celebration comes more and more praise because I am choosing to see His hand at work in my life. 

So let me encourage you today to celebrate. Celebrate the little things. Choose to see those tiny little details that make life amazing. Choose to give praise and glory and honor to the One who has brought them into your life and to your attention. 

One thought on “The Little Things

Leave a Reply

