Jesus, my friend

Proverbs 18:24 – “A man that hath friends must shew himself friendly: and there is a friend that sticketh closer than a brother.”

Proverbs 17:17a – “A friend loveth at all times…”

We all have friends. We have friends that we can talk to when things are tough. We have friends to laugh with us when life is crazy. And we have friends who will cry with us when life is overwhelming.

Yesterday, I was listening to “Jesus, Friend of Sinners”. Do you remember that song? It seemed like it had been ages since I had heard that one. And it made me stop and think.

We have been studying about God and the Trinity in Sunday school class this unit. One of the things that the writer is attempting to get the students to appreciate is the holiness of Jesus, how He is righteous and worthy of our praise.

How can someone like that be friends with someone like me? I’m the one that takes one step forward and two steps back. I’m the one that is grateful that my thoughts are not projected up onto a video screen. I’m the one that seems to go around with my foot in my mouth more often than not.

Why would Jesus want to be friends with the likes of me?

Because I have given Him my life.

John 15: 14-17 – “Ye are my friends, if ye do whatsoever I command you. Henceforth I call you not servants; for the servant knoweth not what his lord doeth: but I have call you friends; for all things that I have heard of my Father I have made known unto you. Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in  my name, he may give it you. These things I command you, that ye love one another.”

Jesus is speaking to His friends here, the disciples. However, this promise of friendship extends to us. He wants us to love one another. He wants us to bear fruit, lasting fruit. He wants to be our friend. He has preserved His Word throughout all these generations, all these battles and dark times, so that we would have the opportunity and the privilege to be His friend.

So today, won’t you let Him be your friend? Won’t you let Him laugh with you, cry with you, comfort you and give you advice? And if you choose to let Him be your friend, shouldn’t you be a friend back and listen and be comforted and allow Him the opportunity to share in your joy?

Friendship is a two-way street. You have to be one to have one. Jesus doesn’t need us to be His friend, but we definitely need Him to be ours.

One thought on “Jesus, my friend

Leave a Reply

