Fuzzy mornings

Ephesians 4:23 – “And be renewed in the spirit of your mind..”

Do you ever have one of those mornings where your coffee just isn’t doing it’s job? The cobwebs are still there and all you can think about is how in the world you are going to get anything done today?

Well, that seems to be me this morning. My kids have the day off from school and I still have to go to work. Life isn’t fair sometimes. It’s one of those days that I would just prefer to stay in bed. But, that’s not how things are to go today.

I need to be “renewed in the spirit of (my) mind”. Now then, how is that supposed to happen? Coffee isn’t doing it. I’ve read my Bible this morning. I understood it and comprehended what I read but still feel fuzzy.

What is it going to take?

Submission. I need to submit my day to my Holy God and Savior. I’m holding onto it for dear life. For some reason, I’m having trouble letting go of my troubles this morning. Perhaps it’s because the devil knows that by letting go, I’ll be much more successful for the cause of Christ. Maybe it’s my sin nature just being it’s mean, nasty self.

Whatever the reason, I think that in order to think and function clearly, I’m going to have to let go of the fuzziness. I’m going to have to choose to lay my troubles at the foot of the cross and walk away – don’t pick them back up again. That’s my problem, I like to gather my belongings before leaving the cross. I don’t want to leave a mess. But you see, the cross is all about collecting my mess and turning it into something beautiful. However, Christ can’t work if I don’t leave my mess, my fuzziness.

So, if you find yourself in the same boat today, won’t you join me? Lay it all down – the troubles, the sadness, the fuzziness or anything that is keeping you from being with Him – and let Him do His thing. Let Him make something amazing out of your mess.

One thought on “Fuzzy mornings

Leave a Reply

