Living Translation

Colossians 1:10,11 – “that ye might walk worthy of the Lord unto all pleasing, being fruitful in every good work, and increasing in the knowledge of God; strengthened with all might, according to his glorious power, unto all patience and longsuffering with joyfulness.”

“Be a living translation.” I heard that phrase not too long ago and I have been thinking about it every since.

What does it really mean to “be a living translation”? I have always heard that “you may be the only Bible that someone may read”. I’m sure that is true, in a sense. But shouldn’t it be more than that?

I mean, people aren’t going to read the story of Noah and the ark in my actions. They aren’t going to see Esther bravely stand before the king on behalf of her people. They aren’t going to see Jonah in the belly of a great fish in my life, are they?

People could see faithfulness in my life, a willingness to do what God tells me to do even though it seems crazy to everyone else – just like Noah. People could see bravery in my actions as I stand for what I believe in when everyone else falters, just like Esther did. People could see humbleness in my life when I return Jesus after I have messed up, just like Jonah did.

These three people grew in their walk with the Lord during trials and tribulations in their life. They displayed fruit that magnified God in their actions. It wasn’t easy for them and it certainly wasn’t fun, but they persevered through it all because they trusted in God.

So as I contemplate whether my life is a living translation of the Bible, I just know that I want to do my best. I may mess it all up sometimes and go down the wrong path, but this just gives me an opportunity to show His mercy and grace in my life.

We don’t like to think that others are watching us, it is kinda creepy, but they do. They see our actions, our responses and our growth. They observe our determination to do the best we can. They hear our words complain and praise. It is all out there for them to critique and judge.

But what will they say about you? Will they see you as a living translation or an actor on a stage?

Take some time today to evaluate what others see in your life and actions and hear from your mouth. It is all fruit – some of it is sweet and delightful and others are fake and bitter.

One thought on “Living Translation

Leave a Reply

