Home

Matthew 28:19b – “and, lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world. Amen.”

There is just something about home. Whenever you have had a really long day and life has been piling up on you like crazy, it is good to go home. It is good to have a place to “hang your hat” and just relax. Every one needs a place to kick off their shoes, put their feet up and be brain dead for a bit.

Of course, you know me, I woke up at 4 in the morning to go to the bathroom and had a song in my head. On Sunday night, we had 5th Sunday sing. One of the songs requested to sing as a congregational was “Anywhere is Home.” Here are the lyrics:

1 Earthly wealth and fame may never come to me,
And a palace fair here mine may never be;
But let come what may, if Christ for me doth care,
Anywhere is home, if He is only there.

Refrain:
Anywhere is home, let come and go what may;
Anywhere I roam, He keeps me all the way;
So for His dear sake, my cross I’ll meekly bear;
Anywhere is home, if Christ, my Lord, is there.

2 Oh, I’m tossed about and driven by the foe,
Sad within, without, wherever I may go;
But I press along, still looking up in prayer,
For it’s home, sweet home, if Christ is only there. [Refrain]

3 I will labor on till I am called away,
Till the morn shall dawn of that eternal day,
Looking unto Him who keeps me in His care;
Anywhere is home, if Christ, my Lord, is there. [Refrain]

What a great song!

There is a joke in my family that my mom writes our address in pencil in her address book because we have moved so much. And true, we have lived in a number of locations. But no matter where we have lived, we have had one constant – Jesus has always been with us. We have always had love in our home and peace in our presence because of Him.

I’m not sure why this song was in my head this morning, but as I got up to start my day, it gave me comfort. No matter where I go, no matter what I do, I am home as long as Christ is with me.

Oh, I still need somewhere to kick up my feet and chill, but “home is where the heart is”. I want my home to be with Jesus. I want His presence to be the place where I am completely and totally at peace. I want His joy to be what lights my day even when I am burdened down with a load of care. I want to keep on going because I know that He is with me every step of the way.

So let me encourage you today – you may not have the most lavish place to live here on earth, the carpet may be stained and the kitchen a mess – but “anywhere is ‘home sweet home’ if Christ, my Lord, is (only) there.”

One thought on “Home

Leave a Reply

