Tact

Psalm 19:14 – “Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer.”

This is probably one of my all time favorite verses. One of my other favorites is Philippians 4:13.

I had Ladies’ Auxiliary meeting last night. This was one of the verses that I did our lesson on. I challenged the ladies to memorize this verse and meditate upon it so as to apply it directly to their every day life.

You see, our lesson last night was on tact – being tactful. I don’t know about you, but sometimes my mouth runs away from me. On and on I go like a babbling brook. Just the other day I was watching a soccer game with no awareness whatsoever about who was around me and I opened my mouth to identify that my son was off-sides and who was standing right there? The oblivious referee – he wouldn’t have made the call if I hadn’t assisted him in identifying my son’s mistake. Open mouth, insert foot.

Being tactful includes being able to control your thoughts and your actions. It is being able to handle a situation with grace and dignity when what you really want to do speak your mind. It is knowing what to say, when to say it and how to say it.

But praise God, we don’t have to attempt this feat by ourself! Nope, we have the Holy Spirit to lead us and guide us through these delicate situations, if we let Him. That’s the thing – we have to LET Him. It is so easy to think that we can guard our tongue and control our thoughts. But more often than not, I find myself in a mess because I foolishly think that I can handle it.

Psalm 141:3 – “Set a watch, O LORD, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.”

My, oh my, how true this verse is! It reminds me of the prayer -keep Your arm around my shoulders and Your hand over my mouth. Control. Tact.

I need Jesus to be in charge of my thoughts. I have to consider the root of my words and that starts with my mind and my heart. If I let Him have control over these two areas, the opportunity is there to create an environment where He is praised and glorified in all areas of my life – including my words.

So, let me encourage you today to memorize these two verses and let them soak into who you are. Let them be the prayer on your lips each and every moment today. Let’s just see what God will do when we get out of the way and let Him lead.

One thought on “Tact

Leave a Reply

