Keys

Matthew 16:19a – “And I will give unto thee the keys of the kingdom of heaven…”

Keys. We all have them. We have keys to our vehicle, keys to our home, keys to our lock box, keys to work – essentially we have keys to just about everything. In fact, some would even say that there are some that hold the key to your heart.

But what good is a key if it is not used? Really? No good at all.

Keys are used to safeguard something. We obviously want to protect something or someone if we have a key.

Every once in a while, however, we want to use that key to unlock and free something. We want to take a look at that social security card we keep locked away. We want to try on that beautiful piece of jewelry hidden away in a lock box somewhere. We want to go home, so we use our key to get in the door. We need to go somewhere, so we turn the key in the ignition.

I have a super cute key ring that I got in Hawaii. Great memories are associated with that key ring. But the most important thing about this item is the fact that it holds all the keys that I need in my life. I panic when I can’t find my keys. My biggest fear is being away from my husband and locking myself out of my car. That happened before – when the car was running. Bad day. Really cold. Don’t want to remember that day – moving on….

Jesus left us His keys. He has given us power and authority to do His will on this earth. We have a great responsibility associated with these keys. Perhaps that’s the reason we don’t use them very often. People might get offended if we use the keys. The power these keys have might be more than we want to face. See a trend here? Fear. Fear keeps us from using those keys. Fear keeps us from receiving the blessings from those keys. Oh, we like to jingle them around from time to time but do we really want to use them?

Maybe it’s high time we did. Maybe we need to go out on a limb and shake up the tree a bit. Whatever you’d feel the Lord leading you to do about the keys, do it. I promise His blessings will be worth it.

One thought on “Keys

Leave a Reply

