Excuses, excuses

Exodus 3:10-11 – “Come now therefore, and I will send thee unto Pharaoh, that thou mayest bring forth my people the children of Israel out of Egypt. And Moses said unto God, Who am I, that I should go unto Pharaoh, and that I should bring forth the children of Israel out of Egypt?”

Excuses, and excuses.

I heard a song once by The Kingsmen called “Excuses”. It gives every excuse under the sun as to why one didn’t want to go to church. It ranges from the weather to just about any other dislike or discomfort, including the preacher not shaking your hand.

There are a hundred and one excuses for not attending worship services. I’ve even employed some of them myself from time to time, something I’m not proud of.

The thing is, we hear excuses every day. There are excuses as to why the clothes are on the floor. There are excuses as to why someone is late. There are excuses for why I don’t want to cook dinner tonight.

Moses was the king of excuses. God had called him to do a specific task.  Moses had every excuse in the book as to why he couldn’t do the job – “no one will believe me”, “my speech is bad”, and so on. He was scared. He was being asked to get way out of his comfort zone and he was whining about it.

Sound familar? It does to me. I hear God whisper to my heart to do something for Him and boom! Excuses. “Well, God, I already had plans.” “I don’t want to offend someone.” “You want me to do what???”

I think we are all guilty of jumping on the excuse wagon from time to time. The question is – are you going to stay on the wagon or are you going to take a leap of faith?

Take a moment and consider what you are making excuses for. Are you planning in your heart right now why you won’t be at church on Sunday? Do you have a laundry list of excuses why you can’t read you Bible on a daily basis? What’s your reason for not completing that task God has been laying heavy on your heart? What’s your excuse for not talking to Him and listening to Him?

Excuses are one more thing keeping you from the blessings that God wants to pour down upon you. Excuses prevent you from experiencing God on a personal level. Excuses keep you from others.

So this weekend, identify what excuses are holding you back and then lay them down before the Lord. He wants to rid you of any excuse not to serve Him and live in His presence. Surrender them to Him. Choose to not be constrained by excuses. Live free of them.

 

2 thoughts on “Excuses, excuses

Leave a Reply

