Wanted vs. Not wanted

John 14:23 – “Jesus answered and said unto him, If a man love me, he will keep my words: and my Father will love him, and we will come unto him, and make our abode with him.”

Have you ever felt not wanted? Have you ever been in a situation where you felt like a third wheel? No one likes that feeling. Everyone wants to feel wanted. We want to be needed and wanted. People may say that it doesn’t matter, but deep down, it does.

Some people try and say that Jesus forces Himself into our lives. They think of Him as pushy and demanding. Too many rules. Too much interference. Too strict.

I guess it’s all perspective and whether you believe the Bible or not. You see, when I read this verse in John, I see Someone who wants to be wanted. Not that Jesus needs us to want Him, but rather He doesn’t become involved where He is not wanted. He seeks us out. He pursues our heart. He desires to have a relationship with us. Yet, if we say “no” to Him enough times, He leaves us alone….forever. It is possible to reject Jesus. And with that rejection comes eternal separation. Thankfully, that doesn’t happen too easily. God is the God of second, third, fourth (and so on) chances. He doesn’t desire for anyone to face an eternity in hell. But there does come a time when “no” means “no” and the pursuit stops. What a sad day that is.

I am grateful that Jesus only assists where He is wanted. I get that. I understand that desire. It makes me feel closer to Him in knowing that. We always hear and are taught that Jesus knows our sorrows and understands our trials. It is good to have that emotional connection. In my crazy mind, it helps me to understand Him better.

So today, let me encourage you to include Jesus in your everyday things. He wants to be a part of your life. He wants to hear all about it. He wants to be focused on you. He wants to guide you through this insanity. However, He won’t assist where He is not invited. Stop what you are doing right now, and if you haven’t invited Him into your day, do so. His fellowship is way sweeter if you ask.

2 thoughts on “Wanted vs. Not wanted

Leave a Reply

