Ruminate while He illuminates

John 12:35-36 – “Then Jesus said unto them, Yet a little while is the light with you. Walk while ye have the light, lest darkness come upon you: for he that walketh in darkness knoweth not whither he goeth. While ye have light, believe in the light, that ye may be the children of light. These things spake Jesus, and departed, and did hide himself from them.”

John 8:12 – “Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.”

Well, hello there! It has been a while! I know. I have been distracted. With Christmas comes travel and vacation. I have enjoyed both, last year. Now, it is the first Monday of the new year and I am ready to go. Life is getting back to normal. So, bear with me. You know how life can go.

Light. We all love light. It was raining all day yesterday and we had no sun. Today, I feel drained and cold. Light does something for us. It provides necessary vitamins that we need to be healthy. It gives us the ability to see long distances. It usually makes us happy. I love the sun. I miss it when it is not visible. Besides, I love wearing my sunglasses. I think they look cool. 😊

I was thinking about an old Disney movie the other day. Remember the one with the genie? When the character found the genie and was trying to determine what the genie could do, the genie said, “Ruminate whilst I illuminate.” (Just roll with me. I do have a point in all this!)

Ruminate means to meditate or ponder – something we generally are not too good at, at least I’m not. I have to make myself recall what I learned in my devotional every morning. I have to purposefully choose to recall daily lessons. Otherwise, they go in one ear and out the other.

But pondering is something that God wants us to do. He wants us to ruminate on His word. Yet how can we ponder if we do not see? How can we think on His love and His principles if we do not do not allow Him to shine upon us?

Jesus describes Himself in these verses as the Light. He is the Light that illuminates our darkness. Now, we don’t physically have Him with us today, but we do have His word. And we have the Holy Spirit. These two things work together to guide us and lead us. But they can’t do Their thing if we don’t actively participate. It’s like buying an exercise video and some equipment and then expecting that act alone to make you lose weight. They don’t work if you don’t engage in them. Well, the word of God and the Holy Spirit do not assist you if you don’t spend time with them and engage them.

But engaging the Holy Spirit is not enough. You have to ruminate in the Word for a bit. You need to think about what you have read. You need to remember what you have read. You need to apply what you have read. And it’s not just you. It’s me. I need to do all those things as well. I need to be more diligent at ruminating on His illuminating.

So let me encourage you (and me) on this very first Monday of 2016 to ruminate. Just ruminate whitest He illuminates.

One thought on “Ruminate while He illuminates

Leave a Reply

