Songs in my head

Psalm 96:1-2 – “O sing unto the LORD a new song: sing unto the LORD, all the earth. Sing unto the LORD, bless his name; shew forth his salvation from day to day.”

Almost every morning I wake up with a song in my head. For me, it is a good indicator of where my thoughts are at. This morning, I woke up with a song from our Christmas contata in my head. The name of the song is “Thank you Lord”. Just a simple little song of praise with a swinging beat. Love it!

But there are some mornings when I wake up with a song that does not lift up and/or magnify the name of Christ. Those mornings I struggle a bit more to keep my focus on Him.

Music is very important in my life. It always has been. From the time I can remember, I have been singing in church, in the car, in my room (while listening to my record player – ouch!) – basically anywhere. I listen to all different types of music and enjoy most of it (I’m not too fond of rap). I’ve sang in choirs. I’ve done solos. I’ve done some pretty amazing concerts in my car.

But no matter how much I have done, nothing can compare to the love in my heart when I hear my daughter sing. She loves music just like me. We always laugh and say that her life is a musical – she’s always singing and talking.

You know, I think God gave us music and the ability to create it for a very specific purpose – His honor and His glory. King David was a musician and song writer. I also hear-tell that he was quite the dancer. You can’t dance without some kind of music, if nothing else, you can have music in your head. But David’s dancing and singing and songwriting had one purpose – to glorify God.

That’s exactly where we need to have our focus as well. I don’t know if I can control the songs that I wake up with in my head, but I have found that they stem from the day before. Some days I listen to all Christian music and some days I don’t. But when I fill myself with more of Him, I will be better equipped to follow after Him more proficiently.

We all have a choice here in what we fill our days with – the music we listen to, the songs we sing, the people we interact with (well, maybe not always this one), the shows we watch. Life is about choices. How will you choose Him today?

One thought on “Songs in my head

Leave a Reply

