Prep work

John 14:2-3 – “In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.”

It is the day before Thanksgiving. I have been preparing food and cleaning house the last two days. Actually I’ve been encouraging my children to do the bulk of the cleaning since they are out of school all week. It has been beautiful getting a hand with the cleaning! But I digress…

As we use this day to travel, prep food and plan our get together with our loved ones, we also need to use this day to prepare our hearts for the true meaning of the day – being thankful.

I was listening to the lessons on Sunday night when I caught a listen to this – Jesus has been preparing Heaven for us for nearly 2000 years. Just think about that for a moment – 2000 years of prep work! That’s crazy! John caught a glimpse of this prep work and he recorded it in Revelation 21:18-19a – “And the building of the wall of it was of jasper: and the city was pure gold, like unto clear glass. And the foundations of the wall of the city were garnished with all manner of precious stones.”  And that’s just the tip of the iceberg. Heaven is going to be way more beautiful than we can truly imagine.

So, what does this have to do with Thanksgiving, you might ask. In these verses from John, I find three things I am thankful for – 1. Heaven is real, 2. Jesus is coming back to get me and take me there and 3. Jesus always keeps His promises.

My grandma went to Heaven on Thanksgiving day 1999. I will never forget that as long as I live. What a great way to spend the day – suddenly surrounded by all your loved ones who had gone on before you. And to see Jesus on Thanksgiving. How amazing!

So today as you are prepping the food and power cleaning the kitchen, remember to prepare your heart. Thanksgiving is a time for reflection and a time to slow down and count our blessings. Make a list if you have to, but whatever you do and however you choose to spend the day, please, remember Jesus and His sacrifice and His promises – and say “thank you”.

One thought on “Prep work

Leave a Reply

