Looking back

Luke 9:62 – “And Jesus said unto him, No man, having put his hand to the plough, and looking back, is fit for the kingdom of God.”

Rear view mirrors. They are quite helpful when driving. I use them to see who is behind me, how close they are and such. Some people use them to put on make up and check their hair. Some people use them to check on the people in the back seat. Each one of us have many reasons that we use our rear view mirror on a daily basis. 

As I was driving last night, I was listening to a song about a girl who had ripped off her rear view mirror because she was determined that she was never looking back. How much different would our lives be if we did not have the ability or the desire to look back? 

I know of people who spend as much of their waking hours as possible living and remembering life in the past. Now, I’m not saying that remembering the past is necessarily a bad thing. I just think that constantly dwelling on it makes us neglect the here and now. I think that we need to learn from the past, apply the lessons to our life and move on. People change. Circumstances change. Life changes. 

I think that in this verse Jesus is reminding us that we can’t get stuck in the past. We can’t live in the past. The kingdom of God is out in front of us. We have to stay focused on the future while applying the lessons of the past so that we don’t make the same mistakes over and over again. I don’t believe that Jesus wants us to neglect the past – otherwise, why would God have preserved His word all these years? His word has been left for us to learn from, to understand principles and lessons without having to necessarily learn the lessons from experience. God wants to provide us with the best opportunity possible. He wants us to learn from the past, not live in the past. 

It’s Friday. Hopefully, you have a nice relaxing weekend planned out. Why not take some time this weekend to think about your past. Don’t live in it, just remember the lessons that you have learned from it. Sometimes we all need a little reminder of where we have come from to prepare us for what lies ahead. 

One thought on “Looking back

  1. Nice article! Another point about the verse’s illustration regarding plowing & not looking back is that a farmer should fix his eyes on a single point in front of him. If he looks to the left or right or behind him, he will not plow straight & his rows will be crooked. So, in the same way, we should fix our eyes on Jesus, & not get distracted by what’s going on around us, or get bogged down by the past.

    My Granddaddy Frank (Mama’s Dad) was a truck farmer, & Dad says he was meticulous about having straight-arrow rows of acres planted in cucumbers, pepper, etc. Even the acre he planted as a garden had straight rows. I spent many an hour w/Granddaddy Frank & Bigmama – I miss them so. I was the first grandchild on both sides. One of my earliest memories is fishing w/Granddaddy Frank & Bigmama. It was bitterly cold that day, & I was wrapped in his Army jacket. They kept asking me if I wanted to get out of the cold, & I didn’t. I wanted to keep fishing. I was about 3 at the time. To this day, I’ll fish until the absolute last minute. Great memories! Bigmama was a trip. You would’ve loved her. She was pretty & she knew it. You should’ve seen her tearing around town in her Thunderbird! She taught the S.S. class you do now. One time, she brought in a sprig from a locust tree (like the wild locusts John the Baptist lived on). It was grown from seeds she smuggled out of the Holy Land when she & Mama went in 1974. When I was in college, I told my roommates Mama was bringing my grandmother by. They were on their best behavior, expecting some little gray-haired lady. Hah! Bigmama refused to go gray! She kept it dyed jet black or dark brown, & never went anywhere without lipstick & perfume. Anyway, the roommates saw this little lady walk in & the first thing she said to them was, “Oh, as we were driving into Gainesville, I saw a man on every corner. I know you gals must be having a great time!” They loved it!

    >

Leave a Reply

