One of THOSE days

Ephesians 4:32 – “And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.”

I think there are days when this is the hardest command in the Bible. I know there are days when I don’t feel like being kind or forgiving or tenderhearted. I just want to wear my feelings right out there on my shirt sleeve like a badge of honor for anyone and everyone to pick at. And that’s not good. It makes me more suseptible to hurt feelings, hostility and grudges. It makes me irritable and weary. I just don’t want to do anything when I get like that. I throw this giant pity party and plan my escape to my little hole in the ground. It’s not very princess-like. 

My solution? Usually complaining and that just opens up a whole new can of worms. Fussing and whining have never gotten me anywhere in life. It may work for some people but for me, it just makes me feel worse. The devil likes for me to believe that vocalizing my woes will make me feel better. Generally speaking, no. No, it does not. 

So how am I supposed to handle these days? Prayer. Lots and lots of prayer. I need to remember that if I’m going to vocalize my woes, I need to do it solely to Jesus. I need to cancel the pity party and decide to let the Lord handle things. Yes, I need to choose to be kind. Yes, I need to choose to be tenderhearted. And yes, I definitely need to forgive. But, I need to do all these things because Jesus did this for me. And He continues to do this each and every time I ask. 

So when the going gets tough today and you feel like your kindness gene is shot and your heart is stone and forgiveness is far from you, remember that you have been shown kindness beyond measure by One whose heart is the most tender and Who forgives every single time you ask. It’s hard, but you can do it. 

One thought on “One of THOSE days

Leave a Reply

