Inside

Psalm 51:6-12 – “Behold, thou desirest truth in the inward parts: and in the hidden part thou shalt make me to know wisdom. Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean: wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow. Make me to hear joy and gladness; that the bones which thou hast broken may rejoice. Hide thy face from my sins, and blot out all mine iniquities. Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from thy presence; and take not thy holy spirit from me. Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with thy free spirit.”

Christmas is just around the corner. The time is quickly approaching when a lot of people are going to be present crazy. There are some people obsessed with creating the perfect package. They buy the best wrapping paper, beautiful ribbons and bows and a super fancy tag to name the recipient of the present. They spend a lot of time wrapping, taping and creating the picture perfect present. 

But who knows what is on the inside. It could be a rubber snake for all the receiver knows. The package could be the most beautiful thing ever created and on the inside is garbage. And then all that time and effort into the outside seems futile. Who wants a beautiful package filled with yuck? 

So many people today are working on the outside when what they should be more concerned about is the inside. Now don’t get me wrong here, I believe that it is our responsibility to take good care of the body that God has given us. I think we need to treat it with respect and feed it good, healthy food and monitor our health to be the best person we can be for the service of Jesus Christ. But all of that should not be our primary concern. 

It’s what is on the inside that counts. What is going on in that brain of yours? Are you striving each and every day to make it more and more like Jesus’s? Do you fill it with His word and think on His will for your life? 

You see, just like a Christmas present, we can fix the outside up to be very nice and visually appealing for those around us. But are we visually appealing to our Heavenly Father on the inside? He sees our thoughts, our motivations, our desires, our dreams – is the root of all these things grounded in Him?

David, bless his heart, was far from perfect. When he wrote this psalm, he had just been busted by the prophet Nathan about his affair with Bathsheba. He had messed up big time. But the thing about David is this – when he was called out for his sin, he didn’t try to blame it on someone else or make excuses or anything like that. No, he owned his sin, he repented of his sin, he accepted the consequences of that sin and then he moved on with the lessons applied to his heart. And still, after everything David did, he was called “a man after mine (God’s) own heart.”(Acts 13:22)

David knew that it was the things on the inside that counted. He knew that he needed to be cleaned. He knew that wisdom and truth were of vital importance. He knew that the only way to get what he needed was to turn back to God. And he humbled himself and asked for that restoration. 

God is ready to give me restoration whenever I ask. He knows that my inside needs a good cleaning out. He is just waiting for me to step up for the cleansing. Unfortunately, sometimes that cleansing is painful. It requires me to admit that I have been wrong. It makes me to see that I’m not as perfect as I like to think that I am. Yet, there is a peace in realizing that I am hot mess. I think the peace comes from the remeberance that I have been purchased with the blood of Jesus. That in His eyes, when I confess and turn away from my sin, my hot mess gets cooled off and I’m back to walking with Him. 

Your life is a gift to God. Are you wrapping it up with pretty paper and fancy bows and filling it with yuck or are you more concerned about what He will find when the paper has been stripped away? Because one day when we are standing before the Judgement Seat, we will be stripped away of all the fancy paper and just be standing there with what is on the inside. What are you going to have to give the One who gave His life for you?

One thought on “Inside

Leave a Reply

