Trying to be still

Psalm  46:10 – “Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.”

I have a busy next few days laid out before me. I have visitors at my house, soccer games, a football game, a pep rally, work, church, grocery shopping, cooking, laundry….the list goes on and on. 

This morning as I’m sitting here trying to come up with what God would have me to say, all I can think about is this verse. How? How do I “be still” in all of this stuff that is knocking at my door? How do I “be still” when all I can see and think about is what needs to be done? 

I know a lady that is in terrible pain from a fall. Sometimes when she is asked to move, the pain overwhelms her and she begins to writhe in pain. She can’t sit still, her breathing becomes irradict and her ability to rationalize things goes out the window. I feel like that sometimes but not because of pain. But when she is reminded her to slow her breathing and be still, she is able to work through the pain. 

Sometimes I feel that Jesus is calling me to “be still”. Those are the times that my hearts aches for my back porch. It’s my place of solace and peace. It’s the place where the sounds of nature soothe my weary soul and calm my heart. It’s the place where Jesus whispers peace in my ear. It’s the place where I don’t worry. I can sit and “be still”. 

But sometimes my schedule doesn’t allow porch time. What do I do then? 

Those are the times when I have to grab those moments of peace and hold onto them for dear life. Sometimes those moments come when I’m in the car driving. Sometimes those moments happen when I’m grocery shopping and there is no one at the store. Sometimes those moments only happen when I’m walking from my car to the next appointment or activity. Sometimes you just have to take what you can get and appreciate whatever God gives you when He gives them to you.  

So let me encourage you today to attempt to “be still” wherever your chaos takes you.  It’s in those moments of peace that you remember that God has this craziness all in His hands. He promised to never leave nor forsake us. But remember, even Jesus needed some time away and some time of refreshment. Don’t leave that important aspect out of your life. Sometimes you just have to be creative in capturing it. 

One thought on “Trying to be still

Leave a Reply

