Fret not

Psalm 37:3-8 – “Trust in the LORD, and do good; so shalt thou dwell in the land, and verily thou shalt be fed. Delight thyself also in the LORD; and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart. Commit thy way unto the LORD; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass. And he shall bring forth thy righteousness as the light, and thy judgment as the noonday. Rest in the LORD, and wait patiently for him: fret not thyself because of him who prospereth in his way, because of the man who bringeth wicked devices to pass. Cease from anger, and forsake wrath: fret not thyself in any wise to do evil.”

Do you ever find yourself in the middle of doing something and realize that the more you do it the more mad you get? Why is that? Why is it that when my daily schedule is turned around or taken away, it makes me mad? 

Yesterday was Tuesday. Tuesday is my “clean the house” day. Yesterday, I had an all day meeting for my job that I had to go to. It was good. It was informative and I got paid to go. What more could I ask for? Well, my cleaning day was taken away. So, I felt like I had to play catch up when I got home – along with completing dinner and preparing lunch for today…and dance class…and homework…and laundry…do you see where I’m going with this one? The closer it got to bedtime, the more sour my disposition became. It was ugly, not good. 

And then I needed to go to sleep. How am I supposed to sleep with an angry look on my face? Prayer. I had to ask God to forgive me of my hateful and angry attitude I had had the bulk of the time I was cleaning. All that hard work down the toilet because I was fretting. 

Now, when I think of fretting, I think of worry. However, I checked out good old Webster 1828 and Mr. Webster defined “fret” (used specifically in Psalm 37) as this: “To tease; to irritate; to vex; to make angry. ‘Fret not thyself because of evil doers.’ Psalm 37.” When I read that, I thought to myself, “Well, that’s you, all right!” Now, I have no idea what I was angry at last night. Maybe I was angry that I had to put off my cleaning to my down time. Maybe I was angry that I had to do it alone. Maybe I was angry that I had to do it period. I don’t know the reason behind my craziness. But I was definitely “vexed”. 

And then I read verse 8 of Psalm 37 – “Cease from anger, and forsake wrath: fret not thyself in any wise to do evil.” Humph. How about that? I think the only thing to say about that verse is “Thank you Jesus for showing me my sin.” You see, it doesn’t say “try not to get angry and try to stay away from wrath and be a good girl and do your best to not get vexed and sin”. These are direct commands with an understood “you” in front of them. YOU cease from anger. YOU forsake wrath. YOU fret not thyself in any wise to do evil. They are commands but we are given a choice whether we follow those commands or not. And last night, I chose not to follow them. 

But praise God, it’s a new day. I have a whole new gammet of choice to make today. Today, I can chose to be different than yesterday. That’s the beauty of morning – a new sky with a new opportunity to be better than I was yesterday. Now, I hope I choose to take that new opportunity and not be the angry booger that I was night. 

One thought on “Fret not

Leave a Reply

