Being ready

1 Peter 3:15 – “But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear”

I was working in the yard on Saturday when I saw 3-4 vehicles pull into my subdivision. They were obviously together. I live at the very first house you see when you pull into my subdivision. I see pretty much every one that comes and goes, when I’m looking. 

The people got out of their vehicles with what appeared to be Bible in hand. They were going evangelizing. I have no idea what message they were spreading. You see, when I saw them, I began praying. I began praying that God would give me what they needed to hear that day, whether it be salvation or just encouragement. And I was praying hard. I was going over the plan of salvation in my head. I mean to tell you, I was praying it up hard. I was going to be ready. 

And they never came by my house. I was really bummed. I was wondering if I scare people or intimidate them or what! Then I determined that they must have been preaching herasy and the devil didn’t want them to hear the truth, so he steered them away from my house. Either way, I was a little disappointed. 

But I was ready. And I know that God blessed me because I was willing, even if the opportunity didn’t fully arise. 

God wants a willing heart. God wants us to be aware of what is going on around us and to be willing and ready to give an answer, even if it never comes to fruition. 

The question is – are you ready to give an answer? If “Sally the acquaintance”  comes up and asks you about your weekend, are you going to tell her about what you learned at church yesterday? If “Bob the coworker” comes up and asks about little Johnny’s football game Friday night, are you going to tell about God’s mercy and grace in keeping him safe? You see, you don’t have to have the Roman Road ready to go at all times (but you should). You just need to be ready to show Jesus’s hand at work in your life at all times and in all situations. That’s what really gets people. They may have this idea that God is just “the Man upstairs” who is manipulating us daily. They need to see His loving hand at work in your life on a daily and personal level. 

Let me encourage you this week to make an effort to change your responses to glorify God. Let others see how He truly cares and is working in your life. Be ready. Be ready to give an answer that will shine His light on your life. 

One thought on “Being ready

Leave a Reply

