Life more abundant

John 10:10b – “I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.”

Last night, we had a fellowship with our “in-betweeners” from church. You see, this group is special – we aren’t in the youth group and we aren’t in the “Golden Ager” group – so, we are in-between. 

It was fun. We went to a hibachi grill, which our meat and potato boys (and girls) had a bit of a struggle with, but they made it. They didn’t starve. 

Which brings me to my first thought – live life more abundantly by getting out of your box, you comforting food box, that is. We all need to broaden our culinary palate from time to time. God has given us so many wonderful things to eat but we shamefully contain ourself to the familiar. Let me encourage you to try new things. You never know if you like them until you try them. Here is my most recent example – boiled peanuts. My husband likes to eat them. Typically, he eats the ones in the can. I can not handle those things! The smell…..not good. However, he had some fresh the other night and I tried one. They were really good. I was shocked! Of course, then I wanted to eat the whole cup but I refrained. My point is this, your palate changes every seven years (true info, look it up). You need to be willing to step out into the gray area of your taste buds and give new things a shot. If you don’t like it, you can always spit it out!😉

And then there was this thought – live life more abundantly by getting out of your comfort circle of friends. There is a whole world of people out there waiting to be your friend, well maybe just an aquantaince, but still. They want to get to know you. They just don’t know where to start. I know exactly how they feel. Sometimes it is hard for me to find common ground with people. But until I get out there and start trying, I will never know and understand all the blessings God has in store for me through these people. 

And one more – live life more abundantly through fellowship with His people. The writer of Hebrews encouraged us in Hebrews 10:25 to “Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is ; but exhorting one another : and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching.” Time’s a wastin’ people! Don’t neglect the ones you love! When we assemble in a church building to worship, it is a beautiful thing. But it is also a beautiful thing when we get together at a hibachi grill to hang out together and show others that you can have a great time with fellow followers of Christ. I believe Christ was smiling down on us last night. He had to have enjoyed seeing us laugh with one another and share our lives with one another. Jesus set each and every person that was at that restaurant for fellowship in my life for a reason. It is my responsibility as their sister in Christ to identify and fulfill that reason. And most of the time, the main reason we are put in others lives is for encouragement. And that is what last night was all about. It was to remind each and every one of us that even though our life is crazy and hectic and sometimes uncertain that we are not alone in our journey. We not only have Christ alongside of us, but we also have our brothers and sisters at church to lift us up. 

I want to encourage you to live life more abundantly today and do it through Christ. He gave you this great big world to taste and experience and find joy in. Don’t let it pass you by just because you refuse to get out of your comfort zone. Remember that sometimes the food and the fun are outside the box. Christ has given us an amazing, abundant and blessed life to live. Get out there and live it!

One thought on “Life more abundant

Leave a Reply

