Ugh! Waiting…

Psalm 40:1-3 – “I waited patiently for the LORD; and he inclined unto me, and heard my cry. He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings. And he hath put a new song in my mouth, even praise unto our God: many shall see it, and fear, and shall trust in the LORD.”

My daughter is now in seventh grade. When my son entered the same grade, he got a cell phone. So this weekend, we went to change carriers and get her a new phone. Oh my, what a practice in patience. I had forgotten how long it takes to transfer a line and start up a new phone. We were in the store for more than an hour. One hour of doing nothing but sitting and occasionally getting up to sign something. 

Now, I realize that this is a trivial manner – “first world problems” as my husband calls them. Yet, why is it not so much of a burden to wait an hour for a new phone but to wait upon an answer from God seems like the wait of the ages? True, He may take a bit longer than an hour to get back to us, but still. The point is that we will gladly wait that hour of our life to get what we want but when it comes to spiritual matters we expect them to be answered right away.  

Sometimes God says to wait. Sometimes we have a few more lessons to get under our belt before He answers our prayer. And sometimes, God just flat out says “no” and we don’t like that word, do we? We are not accustomed to being told “no”. 

But regardless of the answer He gives, He hears every prayer we utter. He listens to them all, even if He doesn’t answer right away. But when He does, He answers in a big way. Not only will He pull us out of our situation, if needed, but He will establish our way and set a new song on our lips. And here is the kicker – when He does all of this, it is our responsibility to give credit where it is due – to Him. We need to be diligent about praising His Name when we receive an answer to prayer. He is God, that makes Him higher than all other names. He doesn’t have to listen to me. He doesn’t have to pick me up when I fall. He doesn’t have to dust me off and set me on the right path and give me new song. But He does, because He loves me that much. And that, dear friend, deserves praise and honor and glory. 

So today, or this week, when you find yourself waiting, whether it be for something or someone, remember that God may be giving you this opportunity to practice patience for a reason – you might need it real soon. 

One thought on “Ugh! Waiting…

Leave a Reply

