The Blinking Light

Ephesians 3:14-19 – “For this cause I bow my knees unto the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, Of whom the whole family in heaven and earth is named, That he would grant you, according to the riches of his glory, to be strengthened with might by his Spirit in the inner man; That Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith; that ye, being rooted and grounded in love, May be able to comprehend with all saints what is the breadth, and length, and depth, and height; And to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fulness of God.”

It has been a busy week. And it’s only Wednesday. Lord, help me. Last night on the way to ladies’ meeting, my gas level indicator went from a number to those dreaded dotted lines. You know what that means? You had better get to the gas station because this baby is about to sputter to a stop. Well, I had to wait until after the meeting and several miles because the church building is no where near a gas station. But God brought me through it and I didn’t end up on the side of the road between here and there. 

As I was driving along watching those dotted lines blink, I thought about my spiritual gas tank. Am I blinking there too? 

Here is the problem I perceive – I see too many people filling up their tank once a week and thinking that will get them through their struggles for seven more days. I don’t know about you, but I run around so much in my car that I have to fill up at least twice a week. If I am physically moving about so much that my vehicle cannot make it on one tank of gas, how can I think that I can make it on one tank of spiritual gas and survive all the firey darts of the devil? This world is tough. We face so many challenges each and every day. And we face them whether we are running around chasing kids or sitting at home as a shut-in. There are challenges and problems every where. I know I need a refill as often as possible. 

Jesus doesn’t want us to run around life with our light blinking. He doesn’t want us to live on the edge, waiting to see if we can make it until Sunday. When Paul wrote these verses to the Ephesians, it was his desire (and God’s through the inspiration of the Holy Spirit) for the people to be filled up on a daily basis and even more so when they met together as a local New Testament church. When we spend time in God’s word and around God’s people, we begin to understand a bit more about His love, His understanding and His forgiveness. We begin to see a bit more of His fullness in our life. But that can’t happen if we don’t get into His word and meet more often with His people. 

It is Wednesday. Tonight is prayer night at many churches, including mine. Wednesday night services are very intimate and special at our church. It is a time for fellowship and renewal. It is a time for learning and sharing. It is an opportunity to fill up your spiritual tank. 

Hebrews 10:25 – “Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is ; but exhorting one another : and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching.”

So let me encourage you to fill up that tank today and tonight. Jesus wants to help you make this the most amazing life possible. He wants to fill up your cup until it is running over. But He can’t do that if you have your hand over the top of the cup. You have to remove your hand and move the cup over to where He is at. But the choice is yours to make. Are you going to face the rest of the week on a partially empty tank or are you going to fill it up? The choice, dear friend, is yours. 

One thought on “The Blinking Light

Leave a Reply

