Alone time

John 6:15-17 – “When Jesus therefore perceived that they would come and take him by force, to make him a king, he departed again into a mountain himself alone. And when even was now come, his disciples went down unto the sea, And entered into a ship, and went over the sea toward Capernaum. And it was now dark, and Jesus was not come to them.”

Alone time. We all need it, don’t we? With my kids having gone back to school, I now have some time to myself. It is beautiful. But I have a problem, I find myself constantly working at home. You know, cleaning, picking up, doing laundry – all the mom stuff that we complain about. 

My husband reminded me the other day that since the kids are back in school, I need to find some time to chill. He said, “I don’t care if it is just stopping long enough to drink an extra cup of coffee. Do something to relax every once in a while.” He knows I need it. I know I need. So, who’s going to tell my crazy brain that I need it?! I can come up with a million excuses of why I shouldn’t sit on the couch and read a book. 

Alone time is good though. You need that time to just be. Jesus recognized that in the midst of His busy life that He needed some time away from his beloved disciples. They were just like His children – yes, I know they were God’s children but sometimes they acted like toddlers! Sometimes we all act like toddlers and the ones that we are around need a break. 

Just try to imagine Jesus’s time alone – if He was anything like me, He was talking to Himself while He was straightening it all out in His mind. He may have found a nice tree to lay underneath and take a little nap, that was very much needed. He may have found a nice fruit tree and had a little snack. He may have just enjoyed some of the memories of recent and past times that were a comfort to Him. 

Whatever He did, the disciples weren’t too worried about Him. They just started off for the other side of the lake. I find that interesting. How could they have just left Jesus behind like that? I would have been really concerned about where He was. Maybe that’s just the times we live in – we have to know where every one is at all the time for fear of someone taking them and/or hurting them. The disciples knew that Jesus would show up eventually. They didn’t seem too worried about it. They trusted Him, at least they trusted in the fact that He would eventually show up. 

So, the whole point in all of this rambling today is this – take some time for yourself. Plan it in your day at least once a week. Maybe it’s just sitting at the coffee shop alone with your latte. Or maybe it’s just sitting in your bed with a book 15 min before the spouse comes to bed. Or maybe it’s just folding laundry without all your “helpers”. Whatever your moments of solitude look like, enjoy them. Pray during them. Remember who you are during them. It’s a time to rejuvenate and recharge. If Jesus needed that time alone, then surely you need it as well. 

2 thoughts on “Alone time

  1. Great reminder. Now that the kids are in school, I need to not let busy-ness take over. Mom’s time of refreshment is beneficial to everyone in the house. 🙂

Leave a Reply

