Words and Gabbing

Ecclesiastes 5:2 – “Be not rash with thy mouth, and let not thine heart be hasty to utter any thing before God: for God is in heaven, and thou upon earth: therefore let thy words be few.”

Have you ever said something and then bugged your eyes out while covering you mouth in shock that you really just said that? Oh my, if I had a penny for every time that happened in my life…

Sometimes we pop off at the mouth. We let our words escape our mouth and they are out there before we think. And therein lies the problem, thinking before we speak. What we fail to consider sometimes is that once those words leave our mouth, there is no getting them back. They are out there for the world to consider, remember and use against us at will. 

Words are very powerful things. They can encourage. They can tear down. They can create joy and sadness. They can make life worth living and they can destroy dreams. But the most important thing to think about when considering words is the mind behind them. 

Matthew 12:34-37 – “O generation of vipers, how can ye, being evil, speak good things? for out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaketh. A good man out of the good treasure of the heart bringeth forth good things: and an evil man out of the evil treasure bringeth forth evil things. But I say unto you, That every idle word that men shall speak, they shall give account thereof in the day of judgment. For by thy words thou shalt be justified, and by thy words thou shalt be condemned.”

You see, what is in your heart eventually comes out of your mouth. And because of that, every word you speak will be held accountable. Wow. How many times do we tear someone down behind their back thinking that they will never know? Guess what? They will. They will be standing at the Judgment just like us. I know I would do better to remember this fact more often than not. 

The brain is an amazing organ. No one truly understands how it works or why. But God does. He created it. He knows what is in there and subsequently, He knows what is in our heart. He knows the evil we think and the evil we do. He sees the sin that we have in our heart and knows that eventually it will make its way out of our mouth. 

But you know the beauty of it all? He knows our sin. He knows our thoughts. And He is ready to forgive us of all of it. Now, He wants a part in preventing problems as well. He wants us to allow Him to get in there and wash it all clean and create a new and better place to think and consider. And it is possible. But it needs to be done on a daily basis. We have to give Him that job consistently and constantly. And when we do, we are so much better prepared not only for the day but for life. 

But as far as “let your words be few”, I’m not so sure that is in my DNA. I come from a long line of gabbers. And that’s okay. You see, I know that God uses my gift of gab to bless others, at least I hope I’m a blessing. The thing is, I have to allow Him to direct my gabbing. If I go at it on my own, that is when I end up with my foot in my mouth – and that is never pretty. 

So let me encourage you today to allow God to direct your words and the thoughts behind them. And if you have the gift of gab like I do, embrace it and let God use it. If not, try going out of your comfort zone and gabbing for a change. It is actually quite fun!

One thought on “Words and Gabbing

Leave a Reply

