Family

Psalm 119:113-120 – “I hate vain thoughts: but thy law do I love. Thou art my hiding place and my shield: I hope in thy word. Depart from me, ye evildoers: for I will keep the commandments of my God. Uphold me according unto thy word, that I may live: and let me not be ashamed of my hope. Hold thou me up, and I shall be safe: and I will have respect unto thy statutes continually. Thou hast trodden down all them that err from thy statutes: for their deceit is falsehood. Thou puttest away all the wicked of the earth like dross: therefore I love thy testimonies. My flesh trembleth for fear of thee; and I am afraid of thy judgments.”

I love my family. They drive me crazy at times, and they can be really loud. But they are fun and make me laugh. We all got together yesterday for no reason, just to have fun. And fun it was. 

My uncles told several stories about my grandma. My grandma was a hot mess to say the least before she found the Lord. She was a fierce momma bear who guarded her children with a passion. And before she knew the Lord, she was….well,….let’s just say she wasn’t known as a lady, not very princess-like. 

But that all changed when she met Jesus. My mom doesn’t really remember her momma and daddy too much without Jesus. When they came to salvation, they jumped in with both feet and never looked back. They were very vocal people to begin with and salvation only amplified it. It was beautiful. 

You know, family is important. And I may not talk to each and every member of my family on a frequent basis, but I keep up with them one way or another. But you know, God wants us to keep up with Him daily. He wants to be involved in our every day life.  He wants to make our salvation real and active so that others can see the difference in us. 

One thing that one of my uncles wanted to clear up with my son was that he might give him a hard time and joke around a lot but if his back was against the wall, my uncle would be there to help. That’s what family is all about – holding each other up through the hard times. And my family has seen some hard times – we have had deaths, tornados, emotional roller coasters, depression, and many, many other issues and yet here we are – laughing and cutting up like none of it ever happened. You see, that’s because we have Jesus in our lives. We have the King of kings ruling and reigning in us. We know where our hope lies. We know who has our back (and our front). 

So let me encourage you today to take a few moments and appreciate your family. Appreciate their craziness. Appreciate their loyalty. Appreciate their unconditional love. But most of all, if you are as blessed as I am to have a family that lives for the Lord, give Him the honor and glory due for the blessings you have today, tomorrow and forever – family. 

Leave a Reply

