just a though…

Psalm 27:4 – “One thing have I desired of the LORD, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD, and to enquire in his temple.”

I was reminded this weekend of the brevity of life. A friend of my family experienced the death of their 33 year old daughter. She left behind two young children. It absolutely breaks my heart. They have been on my mind all weekend. I can’t imagine the sorrow and grief they are bearing right now. Her funeral is today. I know it will be the hardest day they could ever have imagined. 

All of this sadness just brought to the front of my mind that we really don’t know how long God has given us here on this earth. We all have an appointment with death. But usually it is one of those rude appointments that just springs up on us. We have to be ready. 

There are so many facets to being ready. You have your family to think of; their financial future to consider and so many other things that it may seem to make your head swim. But one thing that is easy to get in line – eternity. Jesus is the “Go-to Guy” for that one! He is the One that offers the free gift of eternal life. All you have to do is accept Him. 

But after you get that squared away, you need to be able to live and love until that rude appointment. And that’s where the “house of the LORD” comes in. When you think about going to someone’s house, you think about being a guest in their home. I was blessed with the opportunity to experience that this weekend as well. My daughter had spent the week with her friend at the beach and I had to go and pick her up. I spent the night at her friend’s family home. It was delightful. I dwelt in their house for a few short hours. But I didn’t feel like a guest. It was more like a friend coming to visit – a “mi casa es su casa” kind of thing. It was refreshing. God wants our time with Him to be just the same way. He wants us to relax in Him. He wants us to spend quality time with Him that may or may not require conversation. That’s where I want to be each and every day – dwelling with Him like I dwelt with my friend at the beach. 

So as my family friends walk through the valley of the shadow of death, it is my prayer that they fear no evil. I pray that they are able to dwell with Jesus today – the kind where no words are required. And I pray that you will choose to dwell with Him today as well. Don’t take any day for granted, especially today. You never know what tomorrow will bring. 

Leave a Reply

